iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Would Like Advice For Timber Tax Exemption In Texas

Started by GuyInHuntsville, March 15, 2014, 01:06:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GuyInHuntsville

Hi, I posted this in another forum but found this one and think this is where it needs to be. I'm new to this site. Great site! Can you guys help me?

Hi, I'm really new to this subject and was wondering if anyone can give me some advice about this? I'm in the process of buying 15 acres of wooded land in Walker County Texas and it currently has a timber exemption on it. I like saving on taxes but I don't really want to give up any of the trees (mostly pines) except what's necessary to clear for building a home. And if I did allow select cutting I'm worried about the damage that this would do in terms of the land's appearance, stumps, branches left all over, ruts, etc...Doesn't seem worth it to me for this size of land. In this case should I drop the exemption when I take ownership of the property? Can anyone tell me how this exemption works and what it would mean for me if I kept it in place? This will be the first piece of land I've ever owned by the way. Thank you for reading.

ohwc

I will go more in depth for you. The timber or agricultural exemption in Texas changes if you change the use. Build on it etc. You can change the use for only what you are using at that time. Note any portion of the property that you change the use on you will owe 5 years in back taxes of the difference between the exemption and regular tax rate.. and in some cases also interest on that amount adjusted for 5 years. Selective harvesting can be done in many ways depending on how much you want to get out of the sale. Even if you do not manage it you will have stumps dead fall etc. on the property just like you would if you should have doing sustainable low impact harvesting. You can keep the timber exemption there are just rules that you have to follow and the local authority can guide you on this.