iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Which Tractor????

Started by GAV64, June 14, 2004, 05:17:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GAV64

Gentlemen,

I have started looking for my first tractor, something that will work both in the woods (pulling logs with grapple) and be capable of  final grading, road grading and mowing, both brush hog and finish. I have been using a skid steer for 6 years but it does not do well in the woods, is tough on the grass and i am tired of pulling things backwards. I am looking at deere, new holland, kubota, kioti, mahindra and century. my questions for all you knowledgable folks.

1. HP I was thinking 28 to 35 hp. too small?

2. hydrostatic or not

3. good/bad experience with brand (no bashing others)

I have been lurking on tractorbynet for a while but a lot of dealers post over there, the ford vs chevy thing.

background info: 6 acres at home in CT mixed hardwoods on hilly terrain. 10 acre vacation home sight in MA mixed hard and softwoods on hilly terrain.  I want to be able to transport it so it cant be too big. thanks for your help ahead of time. glenn

Tom

I have a Ford 1910 that I bought in 1984.  It's been a real workhorse.  It has 4 wheel drive (a must} and a "quick attach" front end loader that has only been removed one time.

It maintains my drive, bush hogs the property, used to plow the garden, carries a little fill dirt or tools and pulls logs from the swamp.  Maximum sizes that I care to hook to are in the range of 25" dia. and 20' long.  It'll pull more but doesn't handle well.

A ROP (roll over protection) is necessary for ease of mind.

I think the best thing I like about it is the size.  It doesn't tear the place up like some of the larger tractors.