iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Buying logs

Started by Bub, March 01, 2014, 08:43:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bub

How's the best way to get logs I'm just getting started should I buy from loggers tree service or what. Iam wanting to saw ties an grade lumber any info would be mighty helpful this is the last step before firing up an tryin to make money any info or tips?

drobertson

Howdy bub, I'm not sure about your area, as too how many mills are near by, is there a lot of private land being logged, and in general how is the timber economy.  I can say that contacting local loggers would be the first start.
Then having a cash flow to purchase these logs would be necessary.   Having the ability to unload would be at times critical, and in a timely fashion.  Prompt payment is also critical as is moving them as to ensure they (loggers) have an outlet for more income.   Tree service can work and has for me at times, its just risky on metal in the logs as well as most logs are shorter and not as clear.   The only way to find out is to go for it and see where it winds up.  Logs are a premium for big mills and they are hard to beat out.  Local, private land owners are an option.  But they too want speed and cash for the most part.     david
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

shinnlinger

Are you asking because you are thinking of getting a mill?   If so I highly suggest you figure that out Before you take the plunge.    Free to cheap quality logs and a way to quickly get them and move them around are really an overlooked key component IMO.   
Shinnlinger
Woodshop teacher, pasture raised chicken farmer
34 horse kubota L-2850, Turner Band Mill, '84 F-600,
living in self-built/milled timberframe home

Bub