iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Log handling at the mill?

Started by wvwoodbutcher, February 28, 2014, 10:53:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wvwoodbutcher

Hi, first post here on the forum. Along with many others I've seen here I am in the market for a manual mill. I've had the opportunity to work a few days with a local sawyer and learned a few things from him and his hyd lt40. While the idea of hydraulics sounds nice, the manual mills are closer to my price range. I make my living driving nails, and have been dreaming of sawing my own lumber for years now, so hopefully my dream will soon become reality. With that being said, my first question for you guys is about log handling with limited resources. I have a 30 hp 4wd tractor without a loader, and while I realize alot of people started with less than that, I'm green as grass when it comes to handling timber so I'll welcome any advice i can get. Just trying to get my ducks in a row so i can get to sawing once i bring my mill home. I have a pig pole but the compact tractor don't weigh much, so I'm not sure how it'll hold up to a good size log, and I'll have the logs on a trailer with rails on the sides. Just trying to get some ideas, there's alot of experience here on the forum and you guys seem to have helped out alot of people over the years, and i look forward to being a part of it.   Thanks in advance.
Hudson Oscar 36

WDH

I sawed a whack of lumber using a 45 HP 2-wheel drive tractor.  Skidded the logs to the sawmill using the 3-point lift and a chain, and loaded them by rolling them on the mill with a cant hook. 

You really need a 4-wheel drive tractor with about 50 HP and Front-end loader with log forks if you are serious.  You can make do with what you have, but your productivity will jump with the front-end loader with log forks.