iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Got a permanent log length firewood buyer

Started by logman81, February 28, 2014, 09:41:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

logman81

Han a guy that owns a large kiln dried firewood operation call me yesterday looking for a good source of firewood logs. He was looking for a logger to fill his 2500 cord a year order. He had heard that I sell tree length firewood and that I was a producer of good firewood grade logs. Him and I both agreed on a price and I'm now his soul supplier. He has his own log truck and will pick up all my firewood logs from every job I have. I may have to up grade to a grapple skidder and hire a second guy to cut for me, still on the fence about the upgrade. But I do know of a two owner  ' 86 deere grapple skidder that's close to me that is reportedly in very good shape for little money.
Precision Firewood & Logging

thecfarm

Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

r.man

Have you seen his operation I am curious as to his set-up.
Life is too short or my list is too long, not sure which. Dec 2014

logman81

I know where his place is I driven by it many times. From talking with him he a multitek processor and a kiln for drying the firewood he is one of only two in the state that has one.

r.man

I was wondering how he loads the kiln and how much he does at a time.

r.man

Also forgot to ask, is a grapple skidder faster and does it have a cable on it as well?

Dave Shepard

How are you going to bunch the firewood for the grapple?  A couple of days ago I tried to get two logs close enough together to get them both in the grapple and I was so frustrated I wished I had a cable skidder.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

logman81