iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Advice on basic sawmill purchase

Started by burgertime, February 24, 2014, 09:56:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

burgertime

I'm looking to purchase a sawmill for my shop.  The following describes my sawmill intentions:

-not milling logs for others
-not a milling business
-mill logs harvested from my own woods
-max diameter logs 24" (and that would be huge)
-mostly pine and poplar

Basically, I'm a woodworker and I love building things.  I want to saw my own boards so I don't have to get bent over by the box stores.  I don't need any fancy hydraulics or automation - I'm more than capable of doing most stuff myself.  I don't plan on milling up the whole forest but every couple of months, I plan on milling several hundred board feet.  I don't really want to go overboard and buy something way more than I need, but at the same time, I don't want something really wimpy that is going  to bog down and strain to cut.

I don't know much about brands.  I've seen some woodmizer stuff and some cooks stuff.  Just looking for some non-biased and experienced opinions here on this board.  Price range?  I'd say anything south of $7,000 would be ok.

Thanks!!!

Dave Shepard

Welcome to the Forum! There are quite a few great mills in that price range. All the mill manufacturers to the left have something that would work. I know Wood-Mizer, so I would say an LT15 would be a good mill for what you want to do. It will handle logs that size, provided you are up to doing your part of turning them. The LT10 may be a little small, I don't know a lot about them. Can you run a 10 hp electric motor? If you aren't moving around, that might be a nice option, especially if you aren't running every day. Gasoline engines can be a pain to keep running with today's gasoline if they sit. Others will be along to tell you about their experience with the offerings from the other manufacturers.