iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Drying sawdust

Started by chopperdr47, February 11, 2014, 07:55:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chopperdr47

I'm new to milling and I would like to set up my area as efficiently as possible.

I have my spot picked out for two 1500 bf solar kilns that I plan on building in the not to distant future, but I would like input in what to do with the sawdust. I have plenty of chicken houses that will buy a lot of the dust as is, but a horse stable asked me about drying it.

I have searched around some and cant find much about drying sawdust. Suggestions?
If ya ain't got what ya need, use what ya got

beenthere

What volume of sawdust do you think you will have in a week or months time? 

I'd suggest selling it and let the buyers deal with drying it. They could spread it out on a floor protected from rain and get it dry to their specs, so you don't have to be concerned what their specs are on your end.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

chopperdr47

After some careful consideration and entering the acquired figures into my SWAG (Sophisticated Wild A** Guess) calculator, I came up with 8 to 10 yards per month. I will be cutting everyday with 1 or 2 helpers.  Does that estimate sound too far off?
If ya ain't got what ya need, use what ya got

GeneWengert-WoodDoc

You can use a rig similar to a grain or corn dryer, or even a hay drier.  In the past, drying costs were more than the market could afford.  But maybe you can get a large parking lot and put the dust in small rows and turn often, similar to hay drying in a field.
Gene - Author of articles in Sawmill & Woodlot and books: Drying Hardwood Lumber; VA Tech Solar Kiln; Sawing Edging & Trimming Hardwood Lumber. And more

Ianab

I guess the question is, is the premium they are going to pay for the dry dust going to cover the cost of drying it?

Probably not....