iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Pack Ax

Started by Robert_Burns, January 26, 2014, 06:14:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Robert_Burns

Hello all this is my first post on this forum. Let me start off by saying that I am a bladesmith and blacksmith by trade and do that for my full time work. I have recently become very interested in timberframing and woodworking tools and found this forum to help me learn more. I am currently working on developing my axe designs and would love everyone's input on design from here as well. Unfortunately at this time I don't a picture displaying the top profile of the axe which I know doesn't help in giving a good judgement, but if you would like to critique the design as you see it or have other questions about it's design, etc. please feel free to ask. Thanks in advance for your input.

Specs:
Head: 6 inches long
Edge: 4 inches
Length: 18 inches
Weight: 2 1/4 lbs
Steels: a body of mild steel with a 1084 high carbon steel edge.

Thanks again for your input.

Robert

Robert_Burns

--Photos MUST be in the Forestry Forum gallery!!!!!--.com/user/scottishsmith24/media/IMG_2570_zpsc94ce7151_zpsdba17cd9.jpg.html][img width=550 --Photos MUST be in the Forestry Forum gallery!!!!!--.com/albums/s526/scottishsmith24/IMG_2570_zpsc94ce7151_zpsdba17cd9.jpg[/img][/URL]

VictorH

Hi there Robert

If you do a search on picture posting you will find tutorial/advice on how to accomplish it.  Welcome to the forum.

Victor

Dave Shepard

Welcome to the Forum!

I do some blacksmithing, but have never ventured into bladesmithing. As a timber framer, I have and use many axes. I love a nice sharp axe.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

VictorH

Ah  -you got the pic thing down.  Nice looking axe!!

Dave Shepard

Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

jueston