iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New and looking for 460 info?

Started by chainsaw samurai, January 23, 2014, 01:59:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chainsaw samurai

Hi all, I am a motorcycle mechanic by trade and love tinkering with anything with an engine. Also love the outdoors and cutting wood-on a camping or hunting trip or filling out some wood permits to enjoy a fire at the house or heat my shop. I just got done with a complete rebuild of a MS460 I got off ebay. I have always wanted this saw and since Stihl replaced it with an emissions version, I had to build a like new one. I replaced everything but the cases(which I had powder coated to look as new),crankshaft, flywheel, Piston and cylinder(they looked great but I did re-crosshatch and installed new rings), and the generator. I used 100% stihl parts(except the dual port muffler. I have a new 25" ES bar and a few 33RSF and RS chains, a 7 and 8 tooth rim sprockets. So what works best with what lol? We mostly are into pine and cedar up here. My buddies and I take our wood cutting very serious and get very competitive so please give me some tips so I have an even more unfair advantage. Thanks tons(go Broncos).

joe_indi

Hi  chainsaw samurai,
With what you've got and the dual port muffler, RS chain is good, so is that 8 tooth rim sprocket.
If you can replace the 0.68 fixed jet in the carb with a more generous 0.70 jet.
If you are willing to do it, tap out the valve jet, use a safety pin tip to pull out the installed steel mesh on the valve jet and then tap it back in place.You will have something similar to the pre-1997 carb set up now. More generous with the fuel when its actually needed.
Joe

AdkStihl

I pulled the HD-17A(0.66 jet) carb off my 10mm 044 last week and replaced it with a (NIB) HD-16(0.70 jet).
WOW!! Nuff said.

J.Miller Photography

Andyshine77