iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

chain saw blade sharpener advice

Started by skinnyest, January 21, 2014, 02:31:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

skinnyest

my yearly gift to myself this year with my tax refund is going to be a chainsaw blade sharpener.My dad had one ( I have no idea what brand)and ive allways sent my blades to him.I didn't realize how bad of a job his did till I just ran a new one out of the package.I usually cut and split 15 to 20 cords of fire wood a year and im no pro.I probally go through 2 or 3 blades a day trying to cut a little more without hitting the dirt.Anybody got any advice on a quality sharpener,the local shops around here are 5 bucks a blade with a 1 to 2 week turn around.I would much wrather do em myself on a rainy day.

John R

Oregon makes some good chain grinders, look on Ebay under chain grinders.
John

Sthil MS 361 20" Bar
Sthil MS 260 PRO 16" Bar
Oregon 511 AX Chain Grinder

skinnyest

Anything specific I should look for?I know absoulty nothing about them

bandmiller2

Skinn, I own two good grinders but still file chains. You will be ahead of the curve learning to file correctly. If that doesn't work get a good grinder like the mentioned Oregon. Even with a grinder it helps to touch up with a file in the field. Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

Al_Smith

Not casting stones but properly identified rather than blade the  term is chain . ;)

chet

Quote from: Al_Smith on January 21, 2014, 07:54:42 AM
Not casting stones but properly identified rather than blade the  term is chain . ;)

Unless yur talkin' about and old Wright, or a Barker Rim Saw.  ;)
I am a true TREE HUGGER, if I didnt I would fall out!  chet the RETIRED arborist

Al_Smith

Those old Wright bone shakers aren't really a chainsaw .Those rim saws I should think would be more suited for a surgeons instrument for amputation rather than a wood cutter .

coxy

Quote from: Al_Smith on January 21, 2014, 09:55:54 AM