iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

440d winch

Started by SquareG, January 14, 2014, 10:18:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SquareG

Once in a while, it rips the brake springs to peices and bends the eye bolt when I go to winch in.  50$ a pop and a couple days down.  I'm new to logging and don't have a manual.  Doesn't appear to have anything wrong with it.  How could a fool tear it up?  Thanks, Shannon

BargeMonkey

You have the adjustment way out for "band release". Your going to need to make custom wrenches. Ive got a winch manual but it would take me a few days to find. Pm me if you need it,

KyLogger

X 2 on the custom wrenches. Mine has a 3305 winch and my dozer has got a 3325 on it. I do have the manual on the 3325 it if you need anything specific, I can dig it up.

Tom
I only work old iron because I secretly have a love affair with my service truck!

BargeMonkey

Ive thought a few times about fitting a deere 4000 winch into a 440 just to get away from that winch. Dont bother buying an "aftermarket" band, and be very careful if you send it out to be rebuilt. Deere took mine up, and let the fresh graduate rebuild it. The shafts have to be slid in with the winch hanging on its side, to avoid wiping the seals out. They brought it down, put it on and it puked right away. Deere paid for the complete rebuild, both times.

SquareG

I have been adjusting the eye bolt till brake doesn't slip when it's engaged and under reasonable load.  Hydraulic is slow to release, and engage, when oil is cold.  Haven't adjusted the valve.  Faint rattle noise in clutch appears irrelevant.  May be a trace of oil on clutch(barely, not even sure if there is any).  I'm baffled, once it pulls on those springs, the brake should be self released b4 springs are damaged.  Brake is binding, or grabbing the clutch.  Brake appears like new.

BargeMonkey