iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Using Black Gum and Hickory in TF

Started by RPowers, January 09, 2014, 11:02:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RPowers

I am wanting to use a basic timber frame for my mill shed, and later for my work shop, in preparation for a TF/stone home I hope to build. I have some RO and WO on my 28 acres, but lots of black gum and assorted hickories. Is there any reason for not using these species in heavy wood construction? I know that neither are durable woods, but this would be in an above-ground weather-protected setting. I need beam to span 20' for the mill shed, and looking at DonP's calcs the #2 or better hickory was better than RO for the figures I needed. I have no experience with timber framing, so I'm wanting your advice. Would hickory work for rafters/beams, and black gum for posts? What do you think?

Thanks, RP
2013 Woodmizer LT28G25 (sold 2016)
2015 Woodmizer LT50HDD47

Thehardway

I would have no problem with the hickory if was of good quality and sound and you work it green. If it has a lot of mineral streaking, expect to be shapening your tools a good bit. The Black Gum I might have a second thought about.  My experince with gum has been that it has a lot of internal stress and has interwoven grain. Its workability leaves a lot to be desired in my book.  The gum will try to bind your saw and drill and be hard to get a clean tenon or mortice. You will fight with it considerably more than with red oak which works up beautifully. Gum will want to twist and warp and generally "gum" things up.  Only plus it has is it can be very pretty.  I would be using the red oak for posts with a healthy dose of borate solution and Diatomaceous earth around there bases.

That said, if your willing to fight with it just about anything would make a saw shed that will likely outlast the owner.
Norwood LM2000 24HP w/28' bed, Hudson Oscar 18" 32' bed, Woodmaster 718 planer,  Kubota L185D, Stihl 029, Husqvarna 550XP

RPowers