iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking for some experienced advice

Started by CanaDave, January 01, 2014, 12:16:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CanaDave

Hello and thank you.

I am a Realtor and a dad in Ontario.

My daughter is a graduate of the Forestry program at Lakehead University In Ontario.

She is starting a job in Clearwater BC - Jan 2014 as a forestry technician - doing field work every day.

I have several questions on her behalf. Any help would be appreciated.

Gear ?? What does she need I terms of clothes and footwear.  (Safety green patch yes or no)

What kind of winter suit is typical for this environment ??

Thanks in advance.

Dave.

sprucebunny

Welcome to the Forum, CanaDave !

I looked at a map and see that Clearwater is north of Kamloops at the foot of some mountains.

Though I'm not familiar with the climate, I'd suggest very comfortable waterproof boots ( I'd chose Muck boots ) and layers of fleece and windproof pants and jackets.
I work up a sweat in the woods and like fleece as a base layer to keep excess moisture away from my skin.

Hope she has a great time. BC seems like a beautiful place !
MS193, MS192 and an 026  Weeding and Thinning. Gilbert Champion sawmill

woodenboater

I'm not a forester but is this a contract or full time job ? Either employer should have a list of requirements of needed equipment or supplied I would think. A friend's daughter was doing work in Alberta re: infestation so I can ask what she had, even though it may not be same job. Minimum I think would be helmet and definitely CSA approved footwear. I'd probably invest in some Dickies or Carhartt coveralls or bibs overalls as well.

btw, LU is a great school, bunch of friends graduated from their Outdoor program.

mad murdock