iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

gps help

Started by cutter88, November 17, 2013, 07:20:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cutter88

just purchased a Magellan explorist 310 anyone no anything a bout it... plan on using it tto mark property lines and skid trail layout? any pros and cons or info would be a big help
Romans 10 vs 9 
650G lgp Deere , 640D deere, 644B deere loader, 247B cat, 4290 spit fire , home made fire wood processor, 2008 dodge diesel  and a bunch of huskys and jonsereds (IN MEMORY OF BARRY ROGERSON)

jd_odell

I do not have any experience with that particular model of GPS; however I have 20+ years experience w/GPS operations & instruction.    The most accurate GPS I have experienced was military (encrypted) and it had 1 meter (3.28 ft) accuracy.  The GPS accuracy indicates you are within XX distance of the coordinates you input (way-point) or the coordinates displayed on your GPS (current location).  So, imagine a bubble over where you are standing, and the GPS is indicating that you are somewhere inside of that bubble (UP, DOWN, ALL AROUND).  I'm thinking that a civilian GPS might get you to within 15 feet of a coordinate you input into the GPS.  To check it out, go outside your house (w/GPS) and stand out at a location that is easily identifiable on Google Earth (intersection of your driveway and the road you live off).  Write down those coordinates (I use LAT/LONG in DEG.XXXX format).  Enter those coordinates into Google Earth and fly there to see how close you are on Google Earth to where you were standing.  I'm thinking a civilian GPS will get you close on the trails, but I seriously doubt it will get you close on property lines; not close enough that I would want to say with any certainty "this is mine and that is yours".

Mark Wentzell