iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Horizontal vs. Vertical

Started by handcrafted, November 07, 2013, 09:37:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

handcrafted

Howdy all, I'm new here but I am a lifetime woodworker with my own cabinet shop business and on my own acreage here in the northwest. I for sometime now have been gathering the components to build me own sawmill on a 24' sled bed. Trailer base. And am finally beginning construction with the optimistic hope of taking the first cut in two to three weeks. Well while in my shop and fabricating the rise and lower mechanism of my design (based on the radial arm saw rise and fall) I wonder why are all the saw mills I've seen horizontal and not vertical, similarly to the way a shop band saw operates. Seems to me that the entire head could slide thru a log just as well vertically as it could horizontally. I spent sometime reviewing my design and cannot see why I couldn't just as easily mike my band saw mill vertical. And while we're kicking the can around does anyone have a ratio so to speak of the wheel diameter to blade length. My thoughts are the smaller the diameter wheel driving the blade the faster the blade rotation, with that said is there a good match of blade size to wheel to pulley from engine. Well thanks for having me and I really look forward to your input. Photos to follow over the next several days

POSTON WIDEHEAD

Welcome to the Forum.
I am not an engineer but I think your vertical mill would work.
My first thoughts would be is about the sawdust.

A vertical head wood either throw the sawdust straight up or straight down depending which way the blade is sawing.
A horizontal mill throws the dust out the side away from the mill.

Like I said, I'm no engineer but do I make sense?   say_what

Maybe you could put a conveyor under your mill to take the sawdust out.
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

handcrafted