iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Glyphosate (roundup) shelf life

Started by RedHawkRidge, October 29, 2013, 07:49:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RedHawkRidge

Working at controlling invasive plants, eg, garlic mustard, honeysuckle, etc. by spraying with glyphosate.  I buy it in 2-12 gal jugs, which is 41% concentration.  I work at it in spring and fall.  Using a 4% mix, the jugs might last more than 2 years.
So, does the 41% glyph. retain it's potency over a length of time -- how much?
Does the mixed solution (maybe 4%) retain its potency for any length of time?
thanks for any advice.
jim

fishpharmer

Built my own band mill with the help of Forestry Forum. 
Lucas 618 with 50" slabber
WoodmizerLT-40 Super Hydraulic
Deere 5065E mfwd w/553 loader

The reason a lot of people do not recognize opportunity is because it usually goes around wearing overalls looking like hard work. --Tom A. Edison

beenthere

I've been working out of a 2½ gal jug of Roundup for at least 15 years now, and am not finding it any less effective.
If I were to guess, I'd say more effective killing things.  ;D

And I don't leave a mixed solution over the winter any more, as I grabbed it thinking it was lawn fertilizer and diluted about a gallon of mix with 30 gal of water... took about 3-5 days to kill the grass in the lawn. And the concentration had to have been pretty low.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Deese

Don't let it freeze and it should last for years...
I personallly wouldn't consider using a mixed solution that has been sitting around for a while, as it breaks down over time...
2004 LT40 Super 51hp w/6' bed extension
Cooks AE4P Edger
Cat Claw sharpener/Dual Tooth Setter
Kubota svl75-2 skidsteer w/grapple, forks, brushcutter
1977 Log Hog Knuckleboom loader/truck

Trahlin