iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need Good Grates for OWB

Started by cmcgalla, October 02, 2013, 11:34:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cmcgalla

Hi I have a Hardy H4 and I am sick of buying grates that last for a season.  Any idea on grates that will last?  I was going to build one form 310 Stainless round stock, but way too expensive.  What do you guys use?
Thanks
Zeek

Axe Handle Hound

I'm not familiar with your OWB, but I can tell you how I built grates for my maple syrup arch and maybe it will be helpful.  I have a full time forced air fan in the arch and do my best to keep the stove pipe red hot for hours and hours at a time, but I've been using the same grates for 3 years without any signs of them wearing out.  I built the grates out of multiple strips of 1/8" thick, 2" wide C-channel and welded a cross bar across the back so that the "C" faced up like a "U".  I also used a torch to cut out some holes in the bottoms of the channels for air flow, but I'm not sure if you would need that step or not.  Let the channels fill up with ashes and they'll be insulated from the heat.  Not sure if you can use that approach or not, but it does hold up to the heat well.  I suspect that if there were a large amount of coal build up under the grates they'd burn out quicker, but with the forced air set up I use that isn't an issue.   

cmcgalla

Thanks sounds like it might work for me.  I will give it a try, I am mildly concerned about the weight of the wood on top warping them. 

Axe Handle Hound

Not sure how much weight you're going to have on yours, but you could always use a heavier weight steel to account for it.  Here's a pic of the grate before I had the holes torched in for more air flow.   

billporterfield

FYI
I built my OWB, what I have used for grates are 4 x 9 firebrick installed on 4" side and rest on angle iron frame with spacers. The whole setup works great with no problem of burn-out.

Wick