iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

The kiln is operational

Started by Kingcha, August 21, 2013, 02:36:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kingcha

I figured I would start this on a new thread here....a link to the old thread in case your interested is down below.

I finally got my baffle up and my back opening all closed in today. Then I made a temporary power cord.  I need to either make a proper ext. cord 120' or bury some cable.

about 15 minutes after closing it up I got a reading of 111 degrees, but that is near the top.   I need to add a timer, but for now its just running until I unplug it.

Most of my baffle will not be in the sun do to the metal sheets but I do need to paint about the first foot black after this load of nearly dry wood get done.

The temperature cord, I really need to get a one that is longer.

Back view, only one lower vent right now....trying to decide if I need more.

Some of this is just temporary.  Once my siding is dried and installed I my actually build doors for the back.
matt

Link from solar kiln begins below
https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,67821.0.html
a Wood-mizer LT15 10hp Electric, 45hp Kioti tractor, electric smoker, wood-fired brick oven & yes a custom built Solar Kiln

thecfarm

That's what I've been waiting for!!! Now I want to see some lumber in there. Then I will want to see what the lumber is used for. Expect alot don't I ??  ;D  I wonder if one of those thometers that gives you the low and high would work for you? I have one,but wonder about the high temps. I don't know how high those read. Good luck. Would you imagined that you would have a mill and a kiln a few years back?
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

Kingcha

I had checked back at 3 pm and it had gotten up to 123 degrees.