iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Take it...to the limit, one more time.

Started by POSTON WIDEHEAD, August 05, 2013, 08:09:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

POSTON WIDEHEAD

A customers came and picked up Pine boards this evening. He called me at lunch and wanted to know if I had an Oak slab for a counter top. He is building a bar in his barn for dances and get togethers for watching football games....and yes, in the barn.
The bar will be 2 levels. Oak?...Red or White, he did not care.

I found a 10 foot log I had......off the ground, I have been storing for 2 1/2 years.

The width of the butt was 26 9/16" at the widest part. The other end was 25 1/4" wide.
I opened the blade guide as far as it would go and while sawing, I literally had to push the head/blade the first 28-30 inches. This was my mills limit on width but she she sawed a smooth face.
I don't mind telling....I sold 2 Red Oak Slabs for $600.00. Both slabs were 2 1/2" thick and took both of us to load them. The pictures don't show the full beauty but these were some very nice grained bar top slabs.

The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

SAWMILL BUDDY

loggah

Nice !!! ;D but it looks like there might be a little metal in that lower side of the log ! :o Don
Interests: Lombard Log Haulers,Tucker Sno-Cats, Circular Sawmills, Shingle Mills, Maple Syrup Making, Early Construction Equipment, Logging Memorabilia, and Antique Firearms

POSTON WIDEHEAD

Quote from: loggah on August 05, 2013, 08:21:53 PM
Nice !!! ;D but it looks like there might be a little metal in that lower side of the log ! :o Don

You better watch yo mouff Don.  :D :D :D

loggah

When ever i see a bit of blue stain i get nervous !!! :-[ Don
Interests: Lombard Log Haulers,Tucker Sno-Cats, Circular Sawmills, Shingle Mills, Maple Syrup Making, Early Construction Equipment, Logging Memorabilia, and Antique Firearms

POSTON WIDEHEAD

Quote from: loggah on August 05, 2013, 08:39:41 PM

Makes the hair stand up on my neck!  smiley_sweat_drop