iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hydraulic accessories

Started by caper, July 26, 2013, 06:49:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

caper

A good day to all. I am a mechanic and am wondering why there is not more portable hydraulics in the industry. I have a small bandsaw with a 13hp honda,why not change out that with a hydraulic motor run off my skidsteer hydraulics. Then I got to thinking a 60 inch bar hooked up to a motor on an attachment to take slabs of oversized logs before I take them to the mill. It all seems pretty simple, I must be missing something. Any feedback would be appreciated.

nk14zp

Belsaw 36/18 duplex mill.
Belsaw 802 edger.
http://belsawsawmills.freeforums.org/

Magicman

Hello caper and Welcome to the Forestry Forum.  I noticed that you have a long work commute.   :o  We really enjoyed visiting your Cape Breton area a few years back. 

What would be the fuel usage tradeoff to generate the hydraulic pressure to power the hydraulic motors.  I am curious also.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

blackfoot griz

Caper,
There have been numerous threads here on the FF regarding firewood processor builds. The same basic components would be needed on your hydraulic slabber.  Your hydraulic pump on your skidsteer should have plenty of flow & psi. Do you have any idea of what GPM & PSI your have available?
Once you know this, it is a matter of finding the appropriate hydraulic motor/chain/bar and drive sprocket combination. Next fabricate a  mounting bracket for the saw/motor combination.
You would need some form of a bar oiler...not sure on this.