iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

'72 GMC6500 brakes help!

Started by BOBWOOD, July 22, 2013, 08:21:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BOBWOOD

Hello all...I just got a good deal on a 1972 GMC 6500 with dump box...think it has a 366cui engine...I'm gonna use it for road construction/plowing and for hauling logs/slabs etc. around the property...the dump box does not go all the way to the cab so perhaps I will utilize this area to mount a knuckleboom loader some day...the unit seems solid and easy to work on... but the brakes don't work and I'm not familiar with the system which seems to utilize some sort of vacuum assist. The fellow I bought it from said the ps front slave cylinder/s were leaking and were the problem...but there is no indication of any leaking so I'm thinking either most of the slave cylinders are just kinda seized up from sitting around not being used or perhaps its an issue with the assist system. Any help would be appreciated as I have no experience with this type of system. Thanks BOB

thecfarm

Can't help ya BOB. But that loader sounds like a great idea.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

snowstorm

if they are hydraulic brakes them yes it has a brake booster. sorta of the same as your pickup only bigger. unless the brakes are boosted off the power steering pump. take some pictures then we can tell what you have. 

jdament