iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

sinker log recovery rookie!

Started by mattyboy88, July 19, 2013, 05:59:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mattyboy88

hello everyone. i am new to this forum and still trying to figure it out. i joined because i am new to the sinker log recovery world(you have to start sometime and somewhere). i am from north louisiana, i have an awesome boat, great humminbird sonar, scuba certifacation, location of some logs, etc. i was just seeing if anyone knew any buyers, location of logs, permit requirements, or just to talk about it. im open for any info and will gladly listen to any advice or wisdom! thanks

beenthere

Welcome to the Forestry Forum

You have come to a good place to be able to read a lot about others with sinker log recovery. One member to key on is Ron Scott, and another is Fla_Deadheader. Plus there are others.
Have you found any of their threads through the search system here?
Or need some links?
Fla_Deadheader (He and son recovered logs in FL)
https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php?action=profile;u=330

Ron Scott (wrote a book on recovering logs)
https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php?action=profile;u=2

Tell us more about what your plans are, and for me how you are going to deal with the alligators laying down there in the bottom.  ;)
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

pineywoods

As you will soon find out, you are located right in the middle of a large bunch of sawdust junkies..From your locator pin, I assume you don't have a mill. Just to your west, I know of at least a dozen small mills in union parish alone. I personally know one who sawed up a bunch of sinker pine that came out of the ouachita. In the early 1900's there was a booming logging industry upriver from you. Logs were rafted up and floated down to a big mill in west monroe..