iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Getting started what mill?

Started by crane op, July 14, 2013, 06:22:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crane op

I am wanting to buy a mill either a wood mizer lt40 or timberking 200o. I have 120 acres of mixed hard woods. I will be cutting oak hickory walnut and black locust.I would like to cut my lumber and once I get the hang of it do some custom milling. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. p.s. this is my first time posting on a forum and im not to computer savy please bear with me.
sthil 310 case 480 23 ton splitter

beenthere

Welcome to the Forestry Forum.
You will find a lot of good support for both makes of these mills from what I have gathered from reading the Forum over the years.

Where abouts are you?
Any milling experience?
Have you pulled up some threads here on the different mills through the "search" function (tab along top)?? 
Have you looked at the multitude of videos available? Not easy to look at them all :)

Pull up the proverbial stump and chat about what you have in mind, and maybe if there are any mills to see in your local area. (put some info in your bio, that will help).

Our sponsors have great information and very willing to help, including additional brands to the ones you mentioned. Lean on them.  ;D  All these sponsors' mills will cut good lumber from your logs so sorting them out that way won't work very well. ;)

south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

crane op

I have zero milling experience.  I have been running farm equip, construction equip, and chain saws from a young age. Hopefully I posted this in the right section I'm just learning how to do this.

Dave Shepard

Welcome to the Forum! I own a WM LT40 Super. WM is a great company. I don't have any TK experience, but there are a bunch of satisfied TK users on here as well. My first bit of advice is hydraulics. ;D I love'em. :D