iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Fourth of July cookout ideas needed

Started by Howdy, June 27, 2013, 11:59:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Howdy

I have the family and friends over after the Parade for a cookout every year.  For a heat source I have been using my Weber 200 gas grill but my youngest daughter browed it a couple of years ago and somehow it has never returned.  While I'm sure noone else has had this problem I do have another issue to explore.

Perhaps y'all could suggest to me a cut of beef to flame grill and then finish in the oven at about 200-250 F or so.  We did this at church with Tri-tip roasts and it worked great.  I have always just done burgers, chicken and dogs but this year want to elevate it a little. 

I am a cook in training and do not know much about cooking meat so what kind of beef cut to get and how to cook it in a fool (that's me) proof manner would be helpful.  Thanks.

sandhills

Howdy have you considered cooking a brisket overnight before the fourth in the oven?  Slow cooked and juicy as can be, I can get you a great recipe if you're interested, my wife and I did one a couple Easters ago for about a dozen people or so and they all loved it, it was her late brother inlaws recipe and he loved his brisket.

SLawyer Dave

While I generally cook the Tri Tip Roast solely on the BBQ, you certainly can combine both the BBQ and oven.  I generally marinate the roast for 24 hours in a ziplock bag in the fridge.  You can use a commercial marinade, or if you want to make your own, here is one of my favs:
1/4 cup of soy sauce,
1 tblsp lime juice (or juice of one lime)
1 tbsp lemon juice, (or juice of one lemon)
2 tbsp crushed garlic

Combine all ingredients in ziplock with roast.  Push out all air, seal and then put in fridge, turning a couple of times during the day,