iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Snake In The House

Started by plaindriver, June 26, 2013, 09:30:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

plaindriver

PREFACE: Wife=Naz. Recently retired from urban SoKalif. Moved to the Cumberland Plateau of Tn, rural 5+ ac home setting, a log cabin actually. Now I am a gentleman farmer & soon to be bandmill operator.  Wife also enjoying things. Well, except for one slight problem.

Last Sunday morn, Fathers day, about 0800, Im peacefully checking the weather on my mainframe on the upstairs loft. Wife gets dressed after shower, then I hear this earth shattering scream, like 8 degrees beyond your garden variety hysterical scream. Then she repeats is, but louder! And Im nearly deaf.
Then she locks herself in the bathroom. Wont come out. I look downstairs and see this (harmless) little snake on the floor below. She is way beyond 'terrified' of any animal that is long and skinny that basically crawls with no legs. No such thing as a harmless snake. They're all black mambas! They are all killers and all snakes want to kill Naz. Cant reason with her. I went downstairs to check him out. Then I ask her, maybe 20 x for the camera, just drop it down to me over the rail. Wont come out of the bathroom. (I had to fetch it.)  She is demanding its immediate execution. So, I gather him up, put him in a muck bucket and take him out back. (I did convince Naz to hand me the handgun after the snake and me were outside.) In reality, this snake is our friend. He consumes rodents and mices. Totally harmless to humans. Out back, out of sight, I cap off three rounds and let the wife assume the snake is now enjoying 72 snake virgins. In reality, he escaped as evidenced below. I didnt have the heart to 'off' it. Meanwhile, Naz starts putting packing tape over all the floor vents. I reminded her that will negate the heater and A/C in the house. So I suggested we put wire mesh netting in the vents beneath the registers instead. Another chore for me on the farm.