iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Heating a grease fitting

Started by boltbender, June 17, 2013, 07:27:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

boltbender

I was reading some older posts of shop tricks this morning and I read one that said that you can sometimes free up a frozen grease zerk by heating it.  This will sometimes work but it can be deadly under the right conditions.  I worked as a welder and heavy equipment mechanic at Central Ohio Coal Co. [home of the BIG MUSKIE dragline] and we saw a heated zerk blow out of it's seat and fly through the air like a 38 special bullet, so please do not get in front of one while heating it. I do not mean to put anyones' tip down, I just don't want anyone to get hurt or worse.

Al_Smith

It's common practice or was at one time to heat up frozen king pins in big trucks .I've seen the zert let loose and literally spray fire from the molten grease .You have to be carefull .

Sixacresand

I never knew the brand name of grease fittings.  I always replaced them if they stopped up.  Sometimes I take the old ones and soak them in Gas.  I never thought about putting a torch to one and appreciate the tip. BTW, I worked around draglines most of my career, but never have seen one as huge as the "big muskie".  I googled it.  impressive. 
"Sometimes you can make more hay with less equipment if you just use your head."  Tom, Forestry Forum.  Tenth year with a LT40 Woodmizer,

boltbender

Sixacresand:  I can tell you many facts about the Muskie if you PM me

Chuck White

Another word of caution about heating zerks!

If you are just trying to free it up to a point where it will take grease, don't overheat it or you will take the tension out of the little spring that hold pressure against the little ball bearing that seals the dirt out!
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

turbo885