iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Persimmon....What's it gonna do?

Started by POSTON WIDEHEAD, May 24, 2013, 08:48:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

POSTON WIDEHEAD

I put a 24" Persimmon on the mill today. Long story short.....hit 9 nails and a piece of a basketball bracket......blah, blah, blah. I wanted to saw lumber out of it but finally had to drop the blade down below the nails.
I salvaged 2 nice Mantles out of this log.
This is my first time, not only milling but seeing a Persimmon this big. 24 inches looked huge to me.

My question is, how will this wood react during air drying? Will the ends check as bad as White Oak?
The grain and character is beautiful.

Thanks ya'll.

The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

WDH

It is persnickety to dry.  Likes to twist and warp.  A piece that thick will probably do OK.  I dried some 8/4, and it bowed a bit. 
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

dukndog

WDH is correct. Being so hard, it tends to warp and check a bunch. Coat the ends with latex or wax to prevent what you can and keep it in the shade/cool.
Nice big slab tho and it looks great!!
WM LT-15G25 w/PwrFeed, Mahindra 3510, Husky 385xp, Stihl MS261 and a wife who supports my hobby!!

GeneWengert-WoodDoc

Persimmon that is fairly clear is easier to dry than the pieces that you have.  So, you can expect warping, checking and end splitting and even water pockets.  The best advice is to dry it like you would dry white oak (carefully and slowly), and use end coating.  Do not put these pieces on the top of a pile, but rather use some other lumber to weight them dow so they will not warp as much...12" sticker spacing is probably worth it.
Gene - Author of articles in Sawmill & Woodlot and books: Drying Hardwood Lumber; VA Tech Solar Kiln; Sawing Edging & Trimming Hardwood Lumber. And more

POSTON WIDEHEAD