iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

new member with a question

Started by tcg, May 19, 2013, 06:53:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tcg

Hello to All of You on Forestry Forum,

Please allow me to introduce myself I'm retired and living in rural NE Pennsylvania. I've been cutting firewood for many years and two years ago purchase an Alaskan chainsaw mill. Sold it and purchased a Logosl M8 paired with Husky 395XP. All I can say is why didn't I do this sooner. It is so rewarding and challenging sawing your own lumber.
I lurked around the forum for a period of time but finally wised up and joined. Wow what a wealth of knowledge is available for the members.

I have attempted to find a thread on a problem I have encountered but I may not be asking the correct question.
I have recently had waves (for lack of a better term) develop the full length of the lumber I'm milling and sometimes only in sections.
Please could someone share some suggestions as to what I am doing wrong or not doing that I should be doing?

Thank-you
Tom

Ed_K

Welcome tcg, on my mill which is a band mill it's usually a dull blade,but I have had wave from hard knots in hemlock and spruce.I've found that sawing spruce from tip to butt works to alieviate the wave.
Ed K

clww

Welcome to the Forestry Forum. :)
Many Stihl Saws-16"-60"
"Go Ask The Other Master Chief"
18-Wheeler Driver

mad murdock

Welcome tcg!  Milling is a blast, I have to agree. I started with an Alaskan, have added a Timberjig, and must say, I really like Logosol's approach and the flexibility that their way of doing things allows. Can you possibly post a pic or 2 of what you are seeing? Is it only on li