iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

gardening soil

Started by Compensation, April 27, 2013, 08:22:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Compensation

This is my first year at gardening and I have tilled up a nice size first time garden 30x35. I have a lot of clay in it. Now I am going to buy some sort of top soil to mix in it. I just don't know what I should get. I can buy a truckload of top soil or bags of gardening soil, planting mix, or a combination. What should I get?
D4D caterpillar, lt10 Woodmizer, 8x12 solar kiln, enough Stihl's to make my garages smell like their factory :) Ohh and built Ford tough baby!

Magicman

Nothing equates to true topsoil, but it may also have clay.  I use some of the bagged stuff which is tilled into my soil.  This gives me a texture that does not compact.  My garden is small.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Compensation

Well magicman, I can buy some dark topsoil at the race track where they sell mulch. Or make a trip to menards or lowes. I am planning on tilling in whatever I get today.
D4D caterpillar, lt10 Woodmizer, 8x12 solar kiln, enough Stihl's to make my garages smell like their factory :) Ohh and built Ford tough baby!

thecfarm

I have no idea about your question,but I do know I would start a compost pile and really get into doing that. Your soil will need it. I use to have one that I would turn with my tractor. It was a good size pile. Lots of lawn clippings,leaves and anything else I could get my hands on. We use to have chickens,I used straw for bedding,that helped alot. Than we had a couple goats too. The neighbor up the road would give me thier manure from various animals too.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79