iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Chesapeake Beach Striper Fishing? Update

Started by gspren, April 26, 2013, 09:10:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gspren

I got invited to go on a charter boat trolling for Stripers AKA Rockfish May 5th out of Chesapeake Beach, MD. I have never done this before so do any of you Marylanders have any words of wisdom although I know the captain, and mate should take care of us.
Stihl 041, 044 & 261, Kubota 400 RTV, Kubota BX 2670, Ferris Zero turn

Magicman

I can't help, but I can wish you the best on this fishing trip.   smiley_thumbsup
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Dan_Shade

Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

Fla._Deadheader

Used to use "Bunker Spoons" shined up really well. Helps to have a Nor'easter waiting in the wings, to rough up the water. BIG pencil Poppers work, also. Have to chug them across the surface.  This was 40+ years ago, though.  ;D

Best we ever did, was develop the live shad technique. Have to keep them alive, which is VERY difficult, but, we developed a way to keep them for up to 30 days.

Free line them away from the boat while anchored or drifting, and wait for the explosions. It gets the old pump going really fast.

Best we ever had in the boat was 42#-49" long. ALWAYS caught by guests. We only got to 26#.  ::)
All truth passes through three stages:
   First, it is ridiculed;
   Second, it is violently opposed; and
   Third, it is accepted as self-evident.

-- Arthur Schopenhauer (1788-1860)

Dan_Shade