iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

044/440 Oiler Mods

Started by AdkStihl, April 25, 2013, 04:32:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AdkStihl

Anybody have any tricks or tips to increase oil flow through the stock oilers?
Besides thinning the oil... ;D
J.Miller Photography

Al_Smith

I know there is a high volume west coast oiler for the 066/MS 660 and I think I heard of one available for the 046/Ms 460 .Now if that's true I'm not certain if the 046 will interchange  with the 044 .

JohnG28

From what I understand the 460 HO oil pump will work on the 361, so it may be compatible with the 044/440 also.
Stihl MS361, 460 & 200T, Jonsered 490, Jonsereds 90, Husky 350 & 142, Homelite XL and Super XL

Al_Smith

Well just as general conversation I do know some of the older gear driven pumps will interchange such as 028-038-042-048.Although I have no true knowledge it would come as no surprise if the later generation of center drive pumps might have some interchangabilty .

It's just one of those situations that unless you had it laying in front of you it would be just a guess .

Now I've heard of them enlarging the discharge hole very slightly but again I've never done it myself .

Every so often this subject arises and with just speculation it might be possible to lengthen the flat on the pump shaft so it picks up more oil each revolution.It would real handly though were one to experiment as  to have a spare pump in case the experiment doesn't go so well .

AdkStihl

The 046/460 pump is not compatible with the 044/440.
I have both pumps in front of me and they are completely different. Control bolt may be the same, but the pump body and piston pump are different.
J.Miller Photography

Al_Smith

Yeah since last I looked at the IPL of both .The drive gear seems too be the only thing common .

Compensation