iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Lumber Drying Shed Begins

Started by Andy White, April 21, 2013, 06:07:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andy White

This is my first attempt at timber framing something other than my horses, but I,m gonna try.  Overall it will be 12'x18' off the rear of my mill shed.I have got all rafters and posts cut, but did not have 16' logs for sills, so to Lowes for treated sills. After the sills and joists 2x6x12' on 12" centers, I will floor it with my milled 2" SYP flooring. All these sharp chisels sure do make this a very satisfying experience 

Will post more as this thing gets further along.            Andy
Learning by day, aching by night, but loving every minute of it!! Running HM126 Woodland Mill, Stihl MS290, Homemade Log Arch, JD 5103/FEL and complete woodshop of American Delta tools.

hillbillyhogs

WmFritz

~Bill

2012 Homebuilt Bandmill
1959 Detroit built Ferguson TO35

Andy White

Update on shed!
Layed out first post, and cut mortices for tie beam and top plate braces .All went well. Next, layed out and cut tennons for braces, one end only. After these were fit, I used framing square to project shoulder cuts on upper ends of braces. My math told me they were 33 7/8" long on hypotenuse(sp), and the square showed the same thing. The more of this I do, the easier it gets. I thought this would go faster, but my methods are very slow!
Besides if this were finished, I would have to find another project!  More updates as work progresses.   Andy
Will post pictures later.
Learning by day, aching by night, but loving every minute of it!! Running HM126 Woodland Mill, Stihl MS290, Homemade Log Arch, JD 5103/FEL and complete woodshop of American Delta tools.

thecfarm

I do a lot of things so called slow too. Seem like there is always someone that can do it faster than me. As I say,come on over and help. I never get any takers on the help part,but plenty of talkers.
Looking good.