iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Log scale / Board Feet

Started by DDobbs, April 03, 2013, 10:13:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DDobbs

How do you figure your footage before / after / true sawed footage?

Hope this doesn't come off sounding to dumb of a question?

I am a 25 yr Journeyman Carpenter I understand boardfeet .

Just asking how you figure boardfeet to get paid when sawing.
EZ Boardwalk 40
Ez Boradwalk Jr.sold 11/7/2015
Stihl 650 Stihl 290

dboyt

Good question.  Before sawing, the International 1/4" scale is the most accurate.  A web search will turn up some charts and calculators.  Measure diameter inside the bark at the small end.  If the end is oval, use the average diameter.  It was designed for 1/4" kerf, and you can add 15% if the wood is milled on a band saw with a 1/8" kerf.

After sawing, most sawyers keep a talley of board widths, thickness & length as they come off the mill.  For hardwoods, width is rounded up if it within 1/8" of the next increment.  For example,anything 5-7/8" to 6-7/8" gets scaled as a 6" wide board.  As you probably know from your carpentry experience, you'll lose about 10% of the width and thickness to shrinkage after kiln drying, those 4/4 6" boards will become 7/8" by 5" wide.  If cutting thinner than 1" it is common to charge as 1" thick boards.  Of course this is all agreed to by the customer before the sawdust starts to fly.  I charge by the hour, but keep track of production so that the customer knows the cost per board foot.
Norwood MX34 Pro portable sawmill, 8N Ford, Lewis Winch

POSTON WIDEHEAD

DDOBBS.....I use the Forestry Forum tool box a lot of times.

Look on the left hand side of this page and scroll down under our sponsors until you get to the bottom.
By using this tool box, you will be able to figure out most everything you need.

I have it in my phone plus I use the Board Footage slide chart I purchased from WoodMizer.
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

giant splinter

DDobbs