iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Japanese ink line

Started by S.Hyland, March 26, 2013, 12:50:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

S.Hyland

Hi All,
  I'm in the planning stages of a project which will be framed using all Japanese joinery. I want to use the opportunity to be as authentic as possible with technique. I finally found a couple sources for ink lines (Hida tools and Japan Woodworker). They both have the traditional and modern versions. I badly want the traditional for obvious reasons, but am wondering if anyone has used both and has any recommendations.
I've also wanted to get a couple of higher quality Japanese pull saws. I've used the cheaper RazorSaw type but I would really like something that doesn't require me to throw blades away. I guess I still want something that is a bit forgiving, since I wouldn't say I'm an expert. I don't want to buy a couple nice saws and accidently ruin them ::) Any advice would be great, thanks! 

"It may be that when we no longer know which way to go that we have come to our real journey. The mind that is not baffled is not employed. The impeded stream is the one that sings."
― Wendell Berry

Jay C. White Cloud

Hey Sean,

I was waiting for some others to way in on this?  Make your own, I miss mine that got stolen.  I also have some contacts in Japan that can get you tools.  Will talk soon.

peace brother,
"To posses an open mind, is to hold a key to many doors, and the ability to created doors where there were none before."

"When it is all said and done, they will have said they did it themselves."-teams response under a good leader.

submarinesailor