iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

borehole drilling

Started by farlet, March 23, 2013, 03:23:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

farlet

Good morning,

We are emigrating to Sweden in 1 month, and when we get there, we need a water supply. We have been quoted a fortune to drill a well, and we were wondering if we could do it ourselves.

I have access to a small cable drilling rig for very little money. I am a welder fabricator by trade, so I would be happy to make the drilling tools should they be required. Our house is only 500 yds from a large lake, so I am thinking that we wont have to go very deep. I would imagine that there is rock down there, but I am unsure about depths, etc...

I am not worried if it takes me a few weeks to do the job as it will save us a fortune and I am sure that we will quite enjoy doing it.

Does anyone have experience with this, and do you think we have a chance of making it work ?

Thanks in advance

giant splinter

It sure sounds like you did your homework and it seems you are willing to give it a shot so if it makes you happy and you can save some money at the same time then go fore it. As far as your chance of this working, I thing they are excellent and you can do this yourself with good planning.
Have you had any geotechnical investigation work done on your property and is there any information on the rock formations you might be dealing with?. I think a close look at what the underlaying conditions are might be in order before you before making your final plans, cable rigs have some limitations when it comes to dense rock and may prove to be inadequate for what you are trying to accomplish. I suspect if you can find a local geotechnical firm or an engineering geologist in the area you will be building your project they could give you some good ideas as to how to approach this domestic water well project and possibly also your sanitary septic system if required.