iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Port Orford Cedar- price?

Started by Pattern Maker 437, March 08, 2013, 03:07:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pattern Maker 437

Haven't got my mill yet, but i was calling around for logs just to see what i could find.
I contacted a local tree service, he may have a port orford cedar to take out. 23" dia at chest ht. and 80' tall, lots of limbs so maybe not much clear.
my question is how much should I pay?
I'm very new at this
Thanks, Paul
not sure if this is where i should post this :-\
WM LT35HDG25, Stil 046 Mag. & MS170
Complete wood & metal shop. I'm a tool nut

beenthere

Can't tell you what you should pay.
Don't know what you are going to try to make out of the PO Cedar.

Whatcha makin? Patterns?
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Pattern Maker 437

not really sure, this would be one of my first logs to saw.
From what i read it looks like there are a lot of uses for this wood
the guy i talked to said he would buck it up to whatever length I wanted

Kcwoodbutcher

I wouldn't pay anything, you're doing them a favor getting rid of it.
My job is to do everything nobody else felt like doing today

Ianab

A log like that pretty much has "no commercial value", as in no larger mill is going to be interested.

Doesn't make it useless, but you don't want to be paying much for it. If he's dropping it off you your place you might want to pay a few dollars for his trouble, but otherwise it's likely to be going to a landfill, and he has to pay to get rid of it.

As long as the branches are green the knots will be "tight" and wont fall out. Means the boards are still useful. Makes good outdoor wood, fences, BBQ furniture etc or can be planed up to make "knotty" wood panelling for inside.

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

francismilker