iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Bedroom Set

Started by ben5398, February 17, 2013, 11:45:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ben5398

I am looking to turn the black walnut trees I have posted about in the milling section eventually into a bedroom set once the lumber is milled and is dry.  I will not be doing the work myself as I am not that good at woodworking, though I love the work and wish I was good enough.  I plan on taking it to Arthur Illinois to have the work done, it is the nearest Amish community.  I was thinking 60% 4/4 10% 4/6 and 30% 8/4 leaving anything over 20" wide as single slabs.  With that being said I would like to know about how many bf I would need, and if there is anything I should know.  My great, great grandfather started the walnut grove and I want to make this into a significant set that will be passed down in our family much as the house his father built has been passed down.  Im looking to make the following:

Queen Bed (Head Board, Foot Board and Walnut Runners)
Two Night stands (both taller ones as wall space is a premium)
Two Dressers
Chest for blankets
Maybe a desk if there is enough money and wood left over

A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither.
A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.
Friedman, Milton
1912-2006

T Welsh

ben5398, With out seeing a design or picture of the set its hard to tell what you would need as in the various thickness,s of the working stock. The bed frame will need larger thickness as in 4x4 stock for posts and 6/4 for frame. All the rest of the pieces will use 4/4. Post a picture of what you are thinking and we can see whats needed. Tim

WDH

I am thinking that you will need 500 - 600 board feet.
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

ben5398

Quote from: WDH on February 18, 2013, 07:34:02 AM