iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Green Lumber

Started by sumday, February 12, 2013, 08:16:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sumday

I got a call today from some folks that want to build a barn. Went to check it out this afternoon, 48' x 60' with loft. They have hundreds of acres of lob lolly pines which got me to thinking how about using their trees for the lumber instead of going to the lumber yard as they had planned.

I got the bright idea that this would be an opportunity to finally get the bandmill I've been dreaming of (you guys are a really bad influence) and mill most of the lumber from their trees. I figured about 18-20k bd ft for the frame and b & b siding. They have already marked out several blocks of trees for the loggers who will be there soon. I'm thinking they would drop the trees and I wouldn't have to. If not, I would charge additional for that.

I need some pricing input from y'all as I am brand new to this. Only worked around a bandmill once years ago.

The particulars are : lob lolly pine 20 to 24 inches at the base and tall and straight; I'll be cutting 1x for siding and batten strips, 8x8 for posts, 8x10 and 8x12 for beams, 4x10 for rafters, 4x8 for loft joists , lengths from 12' to 24'; using my help to off bear and stack; my skid loader to handle logs and lumber.

I've been looking on here for bf pricing and seem to be seeing $.45 to $.50 bd ft . Would this be a fair price to work with ? If not , what would ?

Also, I've been building full time since I was 15 , but never with green lumber. Kiln drying or even letting it air dry for more than a week or so wouldn't be an option, because they need the barn up now. They are using it to host weddings, first one booked for beginning of June. Not planning on a true timber frame but more what we refer to as "post and beam" in these parts. Would I run into major shrinking issues? Or do you think it would dry ok in place ? Obviously no heating or ac since its a barn, just good old breeze and sunshine.