iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

LT40HD gas to electric conversion

Started by WoodenHead, January 22, 2013, 10:23:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WoodenHead

I'm looking at selling my LT28 and buying a LT40HD (standard hydraulic) that is a couple years old.  Someday I would like an electric, but right now all I can afford is a LT40HD (no factory options for electric unless it is a super).  I was wondering if anyone had converted a standard hydraulic to electric.  If so, what size motor are you running?

drobertson

I know there are a few, and you can get by with a 15hp 3 ph. 25hp would be ideal,
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

Harpgl

I sell electric motors for a living 1/2 to 10,000 HP, if you need help feel free to get in touch.

Bibbyman

Wood-Mizer mills have been converted from engine to electric motor and back many times.   They probably have a kit available.

If you shop around you may find someone that has converted an electric mill to engine and would have all the parts.

Question; Why not look for a used LT40 Super electric mill?   There are usually a number on the market at a good price.  Probably no more than buying a used LT40 standard hydraulic and then converting it.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

WoodenHead

Thanks guys!

Bibbyman: