iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking to start out

Started by Jwinter, April 01, 2004, 04:27:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jwinter

Hello, I have just found out about and became a member of the forum.  Lots of interesting topics and smart people here, I'm hooked already.  I need some advice.  I'm 29, have been around the logging business indirectly most of my life (my father managed some woodlots). I also was in a forestry program at UCONN.  I have been working in the earthmoving/ excavating industry (laborers union) for the past 6 years.  Recently I've  been thinking about buying a smaller cable machine JD 540 maybe. I know a lot of woodlot owners log truckers and buyers. I dont know wood like you guys but i'm far from a dummy. Can a guy still make a decent living with a chain saw ,cable machine cutting hardwood and doing firewood or operating costs just too high? Thank you.

Minnesota_boy

I have limited experience on this subject, but the talk I hear from the loggers I talk with says you came into this about 25 years too late.  The margins are much leaner now and it is harder to make a business like that pay off.  :(
I eat a high-fiber diet.  Lots of sawdust!

WV_hillbilly

Welcome to the forum Jwinter.  I'm sure you can learn a great deal on here . So just keep reading and asking .
Hillbilly

Duane_Moore

Welcome here. we will help all we can, It would be tough to beat a union wage, and the bennies. but if ya do both its a good life.  Duh---Duane
village Idiot---   the cat fixers----  I am not a complete Idiot. some parts missing.

Ron Wenrich

I didn't even know UCONN had a forestry school.  Is that one accredited?

You can do a lot of good cutting firewood from woodlots.  This is an area where most loggers don't go, since there isn't as much profit in it.

You won't be able to pay too much for firewood on the stump.  You're going to have to sell the advantages to the forest of getting the junk out and leaving some good sawtimber to accumulate growth.