iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

awkwardly mobil LT 10

Started by rimshot, January 16, 2013, 10:42:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rimshot

Well, this is a picture of my neighbor u,p on my LT10.  The LT 10 is perched aboard my 16' car trailer flat bed.  The LT 10 is without  the extension bed so it measures close to 12' in length.  I'm new to this so I will be glad to hear comments about this method good and bad.  Of course that mill will never travel anymore than a 5 mile radius and before it goes on the road  (if it does) it will be chained down with binders and guy straps. 

As far as sawing and the convenience of this rig, it works OK with the exception I have no system to stage logs which ultimately have to clear the wheel fender and be able to roll aboard the bed  .  I have to carefully place logs with the tractor.  I will have to design and build some type of a heavy duty horse to support a couple of timbers to stage and roll onto saw bed.  I have to do this w/o any timbers or logs between bed for mill and fenders which does not affect the clearance for the head rig.

Once the trailer deck is in place and leveled, jack stands go around at the corners and the unit is without a vehicle connected.  If bad weather comes along I hook up the tractor and roll the whole rig in the barn .  Here is a picture of my neighbor making some nice 1 X 6's out of a white Cedar log.

rim

LT 10 with a 10 h.p. and a converted boat trailer to provide mobility for a once permanent mill.

scully

I think you got a good thing going there . Just some thoughts ,maybe slide the mill over to one side and build some timber ramps that will clear the fender ? But over all for your mill lenth not a bad way to go !
I bleed orange  .

thecfarm