iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

saw job price...

Started by Woodkiller, January 07, 2013, 08:52:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Woodkiller

I just got a lead on a job near my house, about 15 miles. He has between 500-800 logs he wants cut into cants. He is going to stage them in 20' lengths. I am new at this and am NOT full time. I told him that I thought the most fair way would be by the hour. I just wanted to be fair to the customer.  He is thinking about doing the offloading himself with a skid steer. Most of the wood is white oak, with some poplar and sweet gum mixed in. All he wants is to square them so they will stack better. Now what am I missing?

WH_Conley

White Oak at 20', if they are pecker poles they will move all over the place. Probably have to cut everything oversize, then trim down. Course if by the hour it won't make any difference. If he doesn't understand tension wood he might get the wrong impression of your abilities.
Bill

drobertson

This sounds like allot of work if you need it, however, just going on my gut feeling, they are small young trees, and spells out a few frustrations for sure. Almost too many to mention,  what size will the cants be?
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

Magicman

Hourly rate is the only way that I would do it. 
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Woodkiller

I have looked at the trees. They are all mature 18"-25+". He just wants them where he can move and stack them. I told him it would be best to mill them all the same size. He want the cants as large as the small end will allow.