iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

putting in a road

Started by oldbones, December 23, 2012, 01:31:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

oldbones

My kid got a logging job that will require him to put in some basic skid roads. He's got a 4wd tractor. The ground is up and down and his machine may not be adequate for the task.

I've told him to hire someone to put in a couple of skid trails. Or rent a piece of equipment.

What's the best too? A small dozer. A small excavator? The mini excavators all seem to have rubber tracks. Can they handle road building in the woods.

Thanks.

g_man

I run a tractor in my hilly woods and use a 70 hp 14000 lb (small) dozer to make tractor roads. Before I got the dozer I was very limited to where I could go. I am just learning so can't say whether this is the best tool or not. It probably depends on what your site is like.  But so far it has worked for me. I can show a few pics of what I have done. Basicly I try to make a fairly flat surface for the tractor to run on which for me means moving a lot of rocks and filling the holes

Some times the rock is bigger tan expected like this one

Here is a cut and fill on a side hill

Pushed a hole thru a stone wall

This is where I am cutting now

Don't know if this helps. Hope it does alittle.

gg

shelbycharger400

Can they handle road building in the woods.

Its not about if they can handle it,   its weather the machine can handle the operator.

You can dig ditches with a shovel, or  an excavator, or dozer,ect,  its all what the operator knows, and takes care to take the time the machine needs to do its job.
beatin a machine, it wont last long.

now if you have to move a 2 to 3 foot stump,  might be better to build a road over it instead of digging it out.   Dozers are best for building roads!   tractors are best for pullin and haulin. ect ect. 

thecfarm