iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Introduction

Started by jdunmyer, March 21, 2004, 04:23:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jdunmyer

Just wanted to introduce myself as a new member here.

Pics of my sawmill are at http://www.oldengine.org/members/jdunmyer

I set it up in 1976 or thereabouts, ran it half-seriously for a few years, then tapered off to just a bit of custom work and lumber for my wife and my buddy to butcher in their woodshops. When asked how I got into it, my answer is, "it runs in the family since about 1840, when ol' Gustave Magsig came over from the Old Country". That really ISN'T what got me into it, but sawmilling in my family does date back that far.

There's some pics of a half-scale sawmill at:
http://www.oldengine.org/shows/semta97/index.htm
Although I don't own it, my buddy & I have been running it at the show for the past several years, as the owner is getting physically unable to any longer.

My location is in far SE Michigan, just north of Toledo, OH. If anyone would like to visit, feel free to drop me a line at jdunmyer@toltbbs.com (that's better than here, as I might not be a daily visitor)

Thanks for all the educational & interesting postings, I hope I can contribute also.

<<Jim Dunmyer>>

shopteacher

Welcome to the forum Jim. That's quite a setup you got there and one big circle saw. :o
Proud owner of a LT40HDSE25, Corley Circle mill, JD 450C, JD 8875, MF 1240E
Tilt Bed Truck  and well equipted wood shop.

Tom

Hey Jim!

I've been to your site before and have sent others as well.  It's good to have you here and I hope you make it a regular stop.

It's good to have another who likes old iron.  We have a few here that love it as well.  You're going to like this place. ;D :)

Paul_H

Welcome Jim,
You have alot of really neat pics there.The 1/2 scale mill sure seems to draw a crowd.
Science isn't meant to be trusted it's to be tested

smwwoody