iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

how to file a chisel chain?

Started by LeeB, November 03, 2012, 10:30:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LeeB

Can one of you filing experts tell me a little about filing a chisel chain?
'98 LT40HDD/Lombardini, Case 580L, Cat D4C, JD 3032 tractor, JD 5410 tractor, Husky 346, 372 and 562XP's. Stihl MS180 and MS361, 1998 and 2006 3/4 Ton 5.9 Cummins 4x4's, 1989 Dodge D100 w/ 318, and a 1966 Chevy C60 w/ dump bed.

beenthere

LeeB
Hand filing?
Which brand chain?
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

sharkey

Im not an expert, but I can tell you how I file my chain.

If your referring to square ground Oregon 72 CK, CL or CJ chain, I use a goofy file and file from the outside in.  Hold your file to obtain a 45 degree angle for the top and side plate corner.  Otherwise if your filing Oregon 72 LPX. JPX, LGX chain with a 7/32 round file, file inside out with a slight downward tilt on the handle end (down 10 degrees) to give a sharp corner with a slight hook.  Just keep in mind that the corner does the work. 

http://www.oregonproducts.com/pdf/chain/72LPXChain.pdf

http://www.oregonproducts.com/pdf/chain/72LGX_F&B.pdf

http://www.oregonproducts.com/pro/products/chain/72_73_75cj-ck-clsuperguardchain.htm   

Al_Smith

I use a multi bvel held so you get 85-90 degrees on the side plate .If you do it correctly the angle where the flat portion of the file meets the side angle of the file that angle will meet right in the working corner .Oh the yes the flat portion sharpens the top plate while the short side gets the side plate .

Trust me it's not the easiest way to file a chain which is why the west coasters have a leg up on us from the heart land .They use the stuff ,we don't .

drobertson