iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cat525 VS Timberjack460 vs Prentice490

Started by logloper, October 27, 2012, 08:27:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

logloper

Kind of an interesting review. I have been useing Cat518 skidders for 5 or 6 years now. Decided to invest in a bigger skidder. I agreed to purchase a 525 from a local dealer, with a lease for the first month. I wanted to make sure it was going to hold up ok. The 525 is amazeing. It pulls like crazy, and very stable. Uses about 50 gallons of fuel a day. (9 hours)Very stable, very user friendly, starts great. It was 9 degrees yesterday morning. Started right up.(to load on the lowboy and go to the shop) After 2 weeks of use, the tranny quit pulling.It engages, but wont pull the machine. Mabe a torque converter issue? The dealer sent me a 460 and took the 525 to the shop to fix. The 460 pulls good, very hard to start, and wont hug the ground as good as the Cat. Same size of drag and the 460 becomes very light in the front. At times it lifts the front tires off the ground.It has better visibility than the 525, and is much more user friendly. After 1 week, they brought the Cat back. It lasted an hour. Same issues. Back to useing the 460 .Another week later, they brought the Cat back again. This time they took the 460 back for another customer. The Cat lasted 1.5 hours. This was Thursday. On Friday they brought us a Prentice490, and took the Cat back to the shop.( iI am not makeing this up)We ran the Prentice all day yesterday, it is almost identical to the 460. It doesnt have quite as many creature comforts, like no fuel gauge. It has a low fuel light. Hard to start also, according to the dealer guy. Hopeing they get the Cat525 fixed this week. Dealer decided they will warranty the 525,entire machine, for 60 days. They all burn close to the same fuel, although we only ran the Prentice for one day. The Cat starts easier by far. The Cat is much more stable, and pulls better.The 460 is more user friendly, and has be