iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

chimney maintenance

Started by 1270d, October 13, 2012, 06:07:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

1270d

Im kind of new to wood burning for heat in my house.  Last year I installed an indoor boiler (homemade)  and I love it.  It exhausts with 6" into an 8 in insulated metal stack.  Im not sure on proper cleaning practices etc for metal pipe.  I should mention that the entire chimney is indoors except for the last 4 ft.   I ve been using rutland creosote remover stuff and brushed the pipe once this fall before winter's use.  It came very clean, all except the first and last 3 ft and the joints. 

beenthere

Keep a good eye on the chimney as it will depend most entirely on the wood you burn. After a year or two, you will have a better idea how often your setup will need cleaning. No way to tell you in advance as there are too many variables to second guess.

How about a pic or two of the boiler you built? Sounds interesting.

I have indoor, and brush preseason and try to get a brushing during the season, depending on snow on the roof.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

1270d

It is roughly 24 in wide 30 long and 36 off the floor with the legs.  All 1/4 welded mild steel.  Basic latch door with sliding grate draft control.  Water jacket on sides rear top and back.  Water cooled smoke shelf.  The smaller plate above the door is a cleanout opening for the smoke shelf.  Firebox is about 24 in deep and 20 high. 

I currently have it tied in with my gas boiler, using the existing circ pump, zone vavles and thermostats. Running three zones heating roughly 2400 sq ft.  The two upper floor zones I leave thermostaticly controlled with the basement zone open as a dump zone.  Aquastat is set at 150 for the pump.  Currently burning spruce and balsam, but will switch to hardwood when the real cold weather sets in.

Any and all suggestions appreciated

beenthere

Neat.