iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Lucas Mill Questions

Started by sigidi, September 13, 2012, 03:43:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sigidi

It occurred to me after doing a little thing on Log supportshttps://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,60546.0.html for Log Boy, are there any Lucas guys out there - or others for that matter, that have some questions about how things are done around a Lucas?

I can't say I'm a professional, or that I do it "the right way" but I do get to cut a fair bit and get to do a whole heap of varied stuff with my Lucas. recently down under had a chap on our Aussie forum asking about loading long logs into the mill and it just happened a couple weeks later I was loading 6m logs into the mill when my endframes where about 5m apart.

More than happy to take a bit of time during a milling day take some pics or vids of some stuff if any of you guys want to see things?

Let me know here and I can try upload some stuff for ya ;)
Always willing to help - Allan

tjhammer

sigidi
do you center the pith when setting your log or just level the top I have a frame with dogs and can't center and dog to I can saw 3/4  to the frame not much waste
tj
hammer

sigidi

TJ, not quite sure what ya meant when ya said "have a frame with dogs and cant center and dog", but any-who  ;)

So on setting up, once I've got the log in and sitting how I want it on the skids, I either paint it with a single line...

at both ends of the log and then line up the vertical with this paint line. I do this if I'm cutting landscape/sleeper grade timber, and I then have the rails parallel to the bottom of the log.
If I'm cutting structural grade timber or going to do a boxed heart post I paint each end with two lines...