iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hauling Logs

Started by Sawdust Lover, September 02, 2012, 08:52:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sawdust Lover

Hello All, I have been a member for a few weeks now and am really enjoying the knowledge on this site. I don't have many sawyers near me where I live so it's nice to be able to chat with you all. I have been a woodworker for 25 years and have a pretty serious woodworking buisness. I bought my Timberking 2000 sawmill a year ago to saw my own lumber and found that you really don't know wood until you start sawing it. I already owned a good size John Deere tractor so I had that covered. I bought the sawmill and built a few buildings to keep the mill in and store the lumber. I just started building my solar kiln last week so I will have almost everything built. So know that I have spent all this $$$$$ I am ready to roll. Just one more problem, I need a way to haul the logs. I tryed to get my local loggers to haul me logs but that didn't last long because it was easier for them to haul it right to the big mills. So I am looking for a way to haul my logs myself without costing me a fortune on a big log truck. I am able to get free logs here and there but I need a way to haul them without breaking the bank. I was wondering how some of you haul your logs to your site. I don't bring my mill to other sites I leave it here at my home.

bama20a

Here is one that is from our famous (well almost,DanG,
https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,17613.0.html
Looks like a great way to load afew logs with.
It is better to ask forgiveness than permission

Tree Feller

Any tandem axle utility trailer will work for hauling one or a few logs. The logs can be parbuckled onto the trailer pretty easily with the addition of a winch, some ramps and sheaves.
Cody

Logmaster LM-1 Sawmill
Kioti CK 30 w/ FEL
Stihl MS-290 Chainsaw
48" Logrite Cant Hook
Well equipped, serious, woodworking shop

mikeb1079