iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cant Hooks

Started by steamsawyer, June 25, 2012, 09:45:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

steamsawyer

I was reading David's post about his recent injury. His injury looks painfull and I hope it doesn't happen to anyone else.

Now I am not trying to be a smart ellic or anything like that but what I am wondering is if someone can explain what makes the Logrite cant hook superior to what has been acceptable for the last couple hundred years. I don't own a Logrite and I have had no personal experience with one or even seen one in real life. I just wonder what makes them better. I am hoping someone can explain the science or physics behind the difference in them. Maybe you guys can provoke me into buying one since most everything I do own comes from the first part of the last century.

I would really like to try a Logrite some day. In most cases it is hard to part a hard working man from his money, so I know I can trust you guys to know what you are talking about.

Here is what I use... The five foot one was my grandfathers'

Alan
J. A. Vance circular sawmill, 52" blade, powered by a 70 HP 9 1/2 x 10 James Leffel portable steam engine.

Inside this tired old mans body is just a little boy that wants to go out and play.

Great minds think alike.....  Does your butt itch too?

Alan Rudd
Steam Punk Extraordinaire.

beenthere

There is clearly a difference with the shape of the hook and how it interacts with the wood. A very noticable difference the first time a LogRite is used.
I was a believer in the wood-handled hooks, until the first time I used a LogRite.

south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

POSTON WIDEHEAD

Alan, the LOGRITE I have IS more like a hook. It is in the shape of a hook.
The 'ol woody I was using, is not really a hook. It is more of a cone shape than a hook.  I'd send a pic, but it's to late to go back to the mill now.